Union Students Selected for Teaching Service Award Program

Published on
November 26, 2019

Union College Educational Studies Unit (ESU) students Tyler Saylor and Hannah Nash have been selected by the Kentucky Department of Education for its Kentucky Academy for Equity in Teaching (KAET) program. Saylor is currently pursuing Secondary English 8-12 teaching certification. Nash is pursuing Elementary P-5 teaching certification.

The KAET program is designed to identify and prepare a pool of highly effective, experienced, and diverse educators poised to transition into the teaching profession in Kentucky's public schools. KAET participants going through initial certification receive financial assistance and training as they are supported and mentored by experienced and effective educators.

The program is a state funded effort to encourage and support a diverse applicant pool of persons entering the Kentucky teaching profession. KAET is a renewable service award program for pre-service teachers who are enrolled in an Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) approved educator preparation program.

“We are extremely proud of Tyler and Hannah and their selection into the KAET program” says Dr. Jason Reeves, Dean of the ESU.

“Many students from across Kentucky applied to the program with a limited number being selected. I’m confident both will ultimately become notable examples of the type of teacher the KAET program strives to produce. Their acceptance into such a prestigious program is very much reflective of the ESU’s goal to prepare educators who are also leaders within their respective classrooms and schools.”